FREE DELIVERY ON ORDERS OVER €95 (EUROPE)
Diferencias entre la Salsa de Soja y el Tamari. ¿Cual es más saludable?

Differences between Soy Sauce and Tamari Sauce. Which is healthier?

abril 28, 2022

One of the questions we get the most has to do with one of the ingredients in the Eco Beef Jerky Teriyaki.

In this blog we are going to explain what tamari sauce is, why it is healthier than soy sauce and why we choose tamari to make our products even though it is more expensive.

What is Tamari?

Although both may look exactly the same or it may be understood that tamari sauce is simply a gluten-free version of soy sauce, the differences are deeper than that.

Tamari, traditionally linked to the Japanese, is a thicker, less salty fermented soy sauce that does not include the addition of any grains.

Soy sauce, however, is a liquid condiment of Chinese origin, and is made from a fermented paste of soybeans, roasted beans, brine and molds (Aspergillus oryzae).

Tamari sauce is thicker, darker and has a more refined umami flavor.

Benefits of organic tamari sauce

  • Gluten free
  • No additives
  • No genetically modified ingredients
  • Better taste
  • Higher protein content

Gluten free

Tamari sauce is suitable for people with celiac disease, gluten sensitivity or people who want to eliminate gluten from their diets due to its inflammatory effect. Switching to grain-free alternatives can help alleviate gastrointestinal symptoms and prevent damage to the digestive system.


No additives

Traditional soy sauce is made from a mixture of water, salt, wheat (or other grains) and soybeans inoculated with Koji (Aspergillus oryzae) spores.

Soy sauce can also be produced by a chemical method without koji or other cultures, which reduces the production process from several months to several days.

The cheapest brands of soy sauce on the market have additives such as caramel, corn syrup or lactic acid to mimic the look and taste of a real fermented soy sauce as well as preservatives to extend the shelf life of the product.

Organic products have much more severe restrictions on the use of preservatives and additives.


No genetically modified ingredients.

Soy is considered to be one of the foods that contributes most to the consumption of genetically modified ingredients in our diet.

That is why soy sauce that is not certified organic may include genetically modified soybeans.

Certified organic tamari sauce expressly prohibits the use of genetically modified ingredients.


Better taste

Because tamari sauce is made entirely from soybeans, it produces a liquid with a more balanced, complex flavor that is less overwhelming.


Higher protein content

Tamari sauce has almost twice as much protein as regular soy sauce. Usually it won't make a big difference in your diet since they are condiments in your recipes, but sometimes all help is little to achieve your macros.

With this brief post we hope to have explained why we use tamari in our products and why we think you should start using it if you don't know this ingredient yet.

Its versatility will allow you to improve the flavor of many recipes in a healthier way.



15% DESCUENTO

Just type your email address, we will send the code